A Journey of the Soul

14 Aug

When do you  know who you are as a person?  In my twenties I was focused on where I wanted to go rather than listening to who I was at the moment.  In my early thirties, I was focused on a decision to make a new life for myself – but I didn’t know what that meant – I just didn’t like the place my life was in.  I’ve made that change.  Now, I’m approaching my mid-thirties and I’m focused on learning who is this citymammaontherun?  What are my passions? What are the things that fill my soul?

My days are frenzied.  As a single mom, I am always on the move, always thinking about what’s next and what needs to be done and what I need to do both at home and at work.  But I spend very little time thinking about what are the things that fulfill me.  I used to think that these things are not important – most important thing to think about was giving my son the things that he needs – like shelter, food and love.  However,  I want my son to grow up with passions and how will he know how to live a balanced life with his passions or even pursue them – if he doesn’t have a good example of what that means.

Last night I cooked a dinner for my friend and his fiance. I loved entertaining them.  I felt fulfilled. I’ve always loved cooking but when I just cook for a four-year old – in a small New York City kitchen – I kind of lost that “love”.  I’ve been walking the farmer’s market in Rock Center during lunch and picking up beautiful looking vegetables and experimenting them – trying to find the time to do something for me and at the same time introduce my son to new, healthy, tasty foods.It feels nice to be evolving, growing again. Will cooking be what fulfills my soul?

 Do you have time to engage in your passions? What are they? 

 

2 Responses to “A Journey of the Soul”

  1. Sue August 14, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Beautiful. Love that you are focusing on you, for the first time in a long time. So excited to read about your journey!

    • CityMama August 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

      Thank you for your support – it means so much to me!

Leave a Reply

