Soulmates

16 Aug

When I first began developing relationships with boys in high school, I believed in the notion of a “soulmate”.   I was on search for a soulmate but somehow along the way in my twenties, I gave up on this notion of  finding a “soulmate”.  Instead, I wanted to find a husband. I  thought if I wanted to get married and have a children I needed to look for something more realistic instead of this notion of  a person that is matched perfectly for me.   I didn’t think about true love or any of what that meant.  In marrying the person I did end up marrying, I made a huge mistake.  A mistake I can’t regret because my beautiful son is a product of that relationship. However, it was a mistake not only because the man I married wasn’t the right person for me but he was also not a good person – but, that’s a story for another day. 

So, now that I’ve been separated from him for almost three yeas and divorced for over one year, I’m on a search again.  This time I have to continue to be realistic considering any man I choose to join my life will impact my son as well.  This time I have to choose right for me and right for my little man in the making. 

I recently ended a relationship with someone that I literally felt touched my soul.  I thought this gentleman was perfect in every way that I could ever want in a partner.  He was my first real relationship since the demise of my marriage and my first relationship beyond my ex-husband in 10 years.  However, one day my gut instinct told me something was off and that this isn’t going to work and that I shouldn’t waste anymore time.  I followed that gut instinct because I was afraid to make a mistake again.  I’ve missed this perfect gentleman since the moment I said goodbye to him and now I have been doubting myself for over a month now.

That leads me to the question is there such a thing as a soulmate?  If so, how do you know you found him for you and your little man?

One Response to “Soulmates”

  1. Sue August 17, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Soulmates exist…I have faith that you will find yours.

Leave a Reply

