My 3 foot tall roommate

8 Sep

I remember the first time I was asked out after I was separated.  I met a really cute guy in a bookstore.  I could tell he was younger than me at the time but I wasn’t sure how much younger.  I was just about 32 years old.  He asked me about a book I was looking at and we discussed other books we read.  He said he was in town that day interviewing at Business Schools in the city and would love to meet me for lunch between sessions.  We met up and the first question he asked me was – did I have a roommate!  I replied, “why yes, I do and he is about three feet tall and about 2 1/2 years old!”  The guy laughed and so did I and I never heard from him again – although he did “friend” request me on facebook and continues to have about 750 friends and growing.

I haven’t really figured out how to successfully date with having a son.  The last relationship I had, I saw the guy every other weekend (just about) when my son was visiting with his dad.  It was nice and balanced for me between my son and this special gentleman but I felt like the relationship wasn’t really going anywhere.  When he asked to spend the night when my son was in the home, I told him I wasn’t ready.  We broke it off a few days later.  I’m happy I told him I wasn’t ready to expose my son to the relationship as I guess this gentleman wasn’t really ready to be there for me in an emotional way.  However, it has left me wondering how will I develop a relationship with another man with such limited free time.

I have recently joined an online dating site and I haven’t had much luck with it.  I tried this same dating site when my divorce was finalized last year.  My first date was with a man that said he was 5’6 inches tall.  I’m approximately 5’3.  When I arrived at the date I noticed immediately that the gentleman appeared to have very short arms.    He was sitting on what appeared to be a very high bar stool and when he literally “jumped off” the bar stool to greet me, I became a jolly green giant!  I was so annoyed.  If this man was going to lie about something so obvious as his height on his profile what other lies would he say!  I did continue the date but his personality was so awful that I told him before desert that I didn’t think this would work and I thought he was pretty shallow.  I’m all for direct and honesty – he even texted me the next day but of course I didn’t respond.

I did go on a few other dates last year but nothing really clicked.   This time around my profile is not being viewed!  Oh well.  At least I’m putting myself out there again.  I really want to share my life and happiness with someone and I know I will but I guess it will take time to find a person with everything I need to complete my life.  If you are a single mom and have dating advice – please do share it here.

2 Responses to “My 3 foot tall roommate”

  1. GG September 12, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    I have no dating advice only to say that when I walk down the street with confidence, people notice. Men notice. There are days when I have my hair done and i am wearing the right outfit to work and I feel confident. I feel good about myself and people notice. If you feel good about yourself and exude confidence, people will notice. They will come to you. And you don’t have to wonder if they are 5’3 and have to hop off a bar stool. You will be able to see them and assess your attraction towards them.
    So tmrrw, put on that skirt you love and those heels that are just a bit too high. Walk down the street with confidence and smile. You eill eb opening yourself up to all the possibilties and that Is the best way to “put yourself out there”. The worst that can happen is a blister from the high heels. 🙂

    • CityMama September 13, 2011 at 2:05 am #

      I agree. Dressing up is one of the things I do everyday to make myself feel good and try to exude confidence. I put on a dress everyday – I’m probably the only person in the city who went to work in the blizzard in a dress! I’m hoping with time the cat calls on the street will finally turning into meeting my male counterpart – eventually. It’s just a lonely out in that crazy dating world. I never envied single people and now I’m trying to see it as an opportunity to experiment. I’m viewing the online dating service as online shopping. I put different profiles in my shopping cart and others I delete!

Leave a Reply

