Remembering & Praying for a World of Peace

11 Sep

I, like the rest of New York City and the people of the United States, will never forget the day we lost so many Americans – when an act of war – took place in our beautiful cities, in our free country, in our airspace.  We will never forget the ultimate sacrifice that the men and women made walking into those burning towers, when people were trying to escape a future that they never expected.  We will never forget the men and women that went to work in one of those concrete pillars that seemed indestructible on what seemed like a normal Tuesday morning and didn’t return home to their families.  We will never forget the volunteers that worked to clean up our city for months  and the emotional and physical pain they must have felt to be at “Ground Zero” and experience that emotional pain on a daily basis for months.  We will never forget the sacrifice these volunteers made to their health. 

It was my second day of work as an attorney after graduating from law school.  I was hired as a law clerk at a federal courthouse.  I didn’t know a soul in the building.  The judge never made it to work as he was caught up in traffic coming into the city from Long Island.  I was in chambers by myself when the first plane hit and lost access to the network connection and the internet but didn’t know what happened just yet.  When the judge’s secretary arrived a few moments later she took me to the jury room to see if the only television in the courthouse was working.  I will never forget the men crying as they streamed into the courthouse.  Many of them watched the plane hit the WTC when they were arriving into the city from the Staten Island ferry.  I’ll never forget watching that second plane hit on live television and knowing immediately that it was an act of war on our city.  I will never forget walking to my parents home with pieces of the World Trade Center all over my body or the smell and taste in the my mouth.  I will never forget the silence of all those people walking out of the city into Brooklyn. 

I will never forget the day that changed how I view my safety in this great city. 

Today, I pray for the family of the victims and hope that they find peace and acceptance of the ultimate sacrifice their family members made on this day ten years ago.  Today, I will pray for peace in the city I love and this great country we live in – so that my son and future generations will never know this feeling that we all who experienced 9/11 feel.  I pray that my son never needs to feel that he may not be safe walking the streets of our city, flying in a plane, taking public transportation or going to work in one of those great pieces of concrete and steel that dot our city’s skyline.

Leave a Reply

