My Boyfriend is back . . .

12 Oct

My boyfriend, Running, is totally back in my life. We have been on a break since January and I’ve been through a lot of Therapy to help me get back together with Running.  We started to see each other again in June and we took it very slow.  We only spent a few minutes together twice a week.  However, I am happy to report that we seem to be on a more regular routine now.   Last week we ran 7 miles twice! I was elated and overjoyed for days.  I love the high I get when I spend an hour with my boyfriend, Running, I love the way I feel when I get back from a run and have to stretch out my body.  When I spend time with Running I love the the way my body looks and I feel confident and strong.  I feel empowered.  Spending time with Running not only makes me feel good physically but also emotionally.  I am better able to resolve difficult decisions after I Run.   I’m also able to clear my head and sleep better at night.  I’ve missed Running so much – at times I would cry and even whine about it to my family and friends.  Now that we are back together I feel complete again.

 

These last few days I loved spending time outdoors  in New York City with my boyfriend, Running.  I was able to enjoy Central Park’s hidden running trails, a New York City sunrise over the east river and Indian summer.  I feel totally satisfied now that Running and I are back together again. 

I did tell Running that although I want to spend everyday Running I can only limit our contact for now to 3 days a week.  learned from our separation that other things are also good for me – like total body conditioning classes and Yoga.  I think it is more important that Running and I look forward to spending time together instead of seeing our intimate Runs as a chore or a quickie before going to the office.  So, for now I will savor my three days a week that I spend with my boyfriend Running. I will look forward to our Dates, I will try not to schedule anything with anyone else during the scheduled Dates I have planned to spend with Running and I will remain in the moment.  I plan not to think about what milestones Running and I may hit this year or next year or even next month – I will remain in the moment with Running for now and see where my body and life takes us.

3 Responses to “My Boyfriend is back . . .”

  1. Anne-Sophie October 12, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Hi, I really enjoyed reading this post. It was witty and made me laugh =] I enjoy running too and can empathize–you have to make time for it! Why is it that you went on a break anyway?

    • CityMama October 13, 2011 at 2:30 am #

      Hi Anne-Sophie, Thank you for stopping by my post and reading it. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I was on break because I was injured – the injury was very complicated and involved some bio-mechanical difficulties that were exacerbated by some suppressed emotion. I thought I would never run again as it was difficult to find a doctor to heal me. However, I did and I am forever grateful to him. Thanks again for stopping by!

  2. Anne-Sophie October 14, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I’m very happy to hear you were able to run again! It must have taken a lot of strength to overcome such a difficult situation.

Leave a Reply

