The Power of Now

22 Oct
Cover of "The Power of Now: A Guide to Sp...

Cover via Amazon

A New Earth
Image via Wikipedia

I have been working on my personal evolution to allow my inner light to shine brightly for almost three years now.  My light, as you  know by now, was almost destroyed by my ex-husband.  I have been working on exposing my light since the day I left my home for the emergency room with my soon to be brother-in-law and my infant son.  I’m not going to say it was easy.  This road has truly been a difficult journey. I continue to be enlightened everyday about how to change the way I think about my life, how to accept the path I have taken and to be comfortable with the uncertainty about where it is going.

 It has been almost three years since I realized that there was no turning back – my marriage wasn’t going to grow and that it was actually destroying me, and if I stayed, destroy my infant son’s emotional well being.  I made the decision that I had to leave but I was so weak – I needed a sign from the Universe to support this decision.  I had not told a living soul what was truly happening inside my home.  It was DISTRUBIA.  On a daily basis  I asked the universe to give me the power to escape the hell I was living in and the universe answered almost immediately with an event that changed my life forever.  And I never looked back.  I knew the Universe answered me – gave me the sign and support that helped me to know that even though I had taken vows to this man – I can break them.   In addition, the Universe made sure that I had the support of my selfless parents and loving friends to help support me through those difficult months when I had to not only grow my self-confidence, my love of myself, but also to fight the most difficult battle I had every encountered with another human being.  The Universe delivered people into my life at the right time that helped me to make decisions that were difficult and untraditional and each time I made it through – I know now that I am resilient and strong.

I’m nostalgic because it is one month short of the three years since this war had been waged in my life.  I have grown so much and I have learned so much.  However, there is much more learning to do.  I received a gift from one of those supportive friends of the “Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle.  I have been struggling with achieving that inner peace that Mr. Tolle discusses in his books.  He talks about thinking about your relationship with the Now.  He says most people treat the present moment “as a means to an end, as an obstacle, or as an enemy” (see A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle, p. 202).  I’ve always struggled with being “in the moment”.  I’m always thinking about the future.   This is so limiting.  The Now is the only thing that is important because we don’t know what the future will hold.  The past is the past and I have not control over changing what has been done.  I have been struggling with accepting the Now.  While I am grateful for all of the wonderful things in the NOW, I’m always worrying about what the future will deliver to me.  My goal for the next few weeks is to focus on the Now.   

 Mr. Tolle says is that we should not judge what is happy or sad in our life – we should just say to ourselves as we experience different events in our life – “this too shall pass.”  He believes that this will bring awareness that these are fleeting moments in every situations – good or bad — and “when you become aware of the transience of all forms, your attachment to them lessens and you disidentify from them to some extent.”  He believes that this detachment will allow you to enjoy the pleasures of the world while they last without fear of loss or anxiety about the future.”   (Id. p., 225)  THIS prior statement really resonated with me.  This is what I need in my life.  I need to enjoy the pleasures of my life – without fear of loss or anxiety about the future.  I have never done that before.  I want to start doing that Now. 

I endured some painful suffering three years ago – “and it too shall pass” – I know it because it has passed.  Now, I need to focus on this happy, peaceful time in my life.   I know that this “too shall pass” but I will try my best to enjoy the pleasures of the moment without the anxiety of what the future holds.

Leave a Reply

