F-A-M-I-L-Y – “When you are in my heart, you’re in my family”

14 Nov
Family Photos 1999-2002

Image by IvanWalsh.com via Flickr

My son and I love Laurie Berkner.   The Laurie Berkner Band is like a rock band for pre-schoolers.  Her tunes are catchy and fun for parents and children.  She even has cute videos which you can watch on YouTube.  She sings a song called Family.  When I first separated from my husband the song always brought tears to my eyes.  I was sad because Family is the most important thing in life and here I was initiating a divorce when my son was an infant breaking up a new family.  I couldn’t get it out of my head that my son  would never know the meaning of this song.

Yesterday we celebrated my niece’s christening and I realized yesterday that my fears were just nonsense.  I watched as my son had the same life I had with my cousin’s children.  I was raised with my seeing my cousins and my grandparents on a weekly basis.   Although we don’t see my extended family anymore on a weekly basis, we do get together at holiday time and for family events and catch-up with each other.  We remain in each other’s life – not because we have to – because we want to.

It was beautiful for me to see my son run around with my cousin’s children.  They had so much fun together and spent the day playing – just like I did when I was his age with my cousins.   In my life, Family is not just mother, father, sister,  and brother.  It is all the people  that have come and remained in our life to support us as we evolve on this great journey.

3 Responses to “F-A-M-I-L-Y – “When you are in my heart, you’re in my family””

  1. loricoshow November 15, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    You are blessed to have a large support group within in family. Cherish them as they do you.

    • CityMama November 15, 2011 at 2:20 am #

      Thank you Lori! Your journey sounds amazing to me as well. You are a gift to Jason as he is to you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Family: The Most Important Foundation of All « YO! IT'S MAY… - February 16, 2012

    […] F-A-M-I-L-Y – “When you are in my heart, you’re in my family” (citymammaontherun.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

